Data Catalogue
Data Catalogue
New Brunswick Health Council Community Boundaries

Data purpose: The NBHC Community Boundaries were developed by the New Brunswick Health Council (NBHC), with consultations with various stakeholders as well as citizens from all over the province. They are geographic units by which population health data is produced, which are the basis for data reporting to provide community level information about the people who live, work and take part in activities in New Brunswick. They represent communities of no less than 5,000 people.

Grouped together, the NBHC Community Boundaries polygons all merge into to the 7 health regions, as established in the Regional Health Authorities Act.

Health regions are legislated administrative areas defined by provincial ministries of health. These administrative areas represent geographic areas of responsibility for regional health authorities. Health regions, being provincial administrative areas, are subject to change.

Data description: Provides a provincial coverage of 28 communities (with the three biggest urban cores – Fredericton, Moncton, Saint John - subdivided) to promote the use of a common geographic representation of NBHC Community Boundaries in New Brunswick.

All communities are groupings of municipalities (Census subdivisions).

Attributes: Community number, Health Region, Regional Health Authority Name

Update requirements: On an ad-hoc basis as boundaries change.

Restriction on use: Unrestricted

License: Open Government Licencee

Georeferencing: datum - NAD83(CSRS), map projection - NB Stereographic Double, (EPSG 2953)

Data formats: ESRI file geodatabase, ESRI layer package, ESRI shape file

Data coverage and size: Provincial Coverage

Responsible Agency: : New Brunswick Health Council (NBHC)

< Back